Herb and Parmesan Savory French Toast (Gluten-free!)

If you are on a special diet, whether by choice, or by medical necessity, you know that it is sometimes it’s hard to find good and tasty food to satisfy those food cravings. Of course homemade is always best, but we don’t always have a lot of time either. This is where French Toasts come in!

I find that French toast is a quick and delicious go-to, not just for breakfast. While I love a basic cinnamon French Toast covered in delicious dark maple syrup almost any time of the day, there are times when I just want something savory.

Savory French Toast is relatively easy to make and requires little prep or cook time. It makes a great meal or snack any time of day! Plus, most of the ingredients are always readily available in my kitchen or garden. I grow my own herbs, the chickens provide me with fresh eggs daily, and I make my own almond milk. While you may not keep chickens or make your own nut milk, eggs and milk are staples in most kitchens, no?

For any French toast recipe, I prefer to use gluten-free bread from Canyon Bakehouse, Ener-G or Schar. I’ve tried other brands too, but they don’t always perform well as a French toast. Let’s be honest, some GF breads and pastries are downright terrible! (I had a string of terrible GF experiences when I realized I that wheat and gluten could never touch my mouth ever again. I may or may not have cried a few times out of frustration.)

I highly recommend these 3 things for the best flavor and results in my savory French toast recipe:

  1. Use the freshest eggs you can find. Luckily, the hens provide us with an abundance of fresh eggs daily. If you don’t have chickens, try to find fresh farm eggs, or at the least, buy pasture-raised eggs from your local grocery store. Seriously, eggs from happy hens make a huge difference in taste and nutrition. Read more here.
  2. Use fresh herbs. I used herbs cut fresh from my garden. If you don’t garden, or grow these herbs, ask gardening neighbors for some! Gardeners are usually happy to share things like herbs. Or, buy fresh herbs from the market. You can certainly substitute dried herbs as well, but I just think the flavor of fresh herbs impart a special flavor I don’t get from dried herbs.
  3. If you have a cast iron skillet, I highly recommend using it over other types of skillets for this recipe. Cast iron skillets just have this magical ability to impart good flavor and texture in the cooking process.

Gluten-Free Herb and Parmesan Savory French Toast Recipe

Serves 2

Ingredients

1 large shallot, or 2 small ones, diced

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 large eggs (fresh farm eggs if possible)

3 tablespoons milk or nut milk

1/2 teaspoon, approximately, chopped fresh rosemary

1/2 teaspoon, approximately, chopped fresh thyme

1/4 teaspoon mustard seed powder

1/8 teaspoon sea salt

4 slices bread (used Canyon Bakehouse Mountain White gluten-free bread)

3/4 to 1 cup shredded aged parmesan cheese, divided evenly into 4 parts

Instructions
  1. In a 10 or 12-inch skillet, sauté chopped shallots over medium-high heat with about 1 tablespoon of the olive oil until shallots are translucent and browned at the edges. Remove from skillet and set aside.
  2. In wide bowl, beat egg and milk with fork or whisk until blended. Then add the rosemary, thyme, mustard seed powder, and salt and beat together until mixture is a little frothy. Dip and soak bread slices in mixture.
  3. Pour another tablespoon of olive oil into hot skillet and put in 2 slices of soaked bread. Cook until browned. Flip bread over and cook for about 30-60 seconds. Lift a bread slice and place one part of the parmesan underneath it. Repeat with the second slice. Cook until parmesan is melted, crisped, and browned. The parmesan should stick to the bread and become crusty. Transfer to plate.
  4. Repeat Step 3 for the remaining two slices of bread. Eat and enjoy!

Step 1: Sauté shallots.

Step 2: Beat egg and milk. I used homemade almond milk here.

Step 2: Add sautéed shallots, herbs and salt to egg mixture.

Step 2: Beat egg mixture with herbs until frothy.

img_7522

Step 3: Brown soaked bread, flip, then place parmesan under bread and cook until brown.

img_7523

Plate and enjoy!

I like the toasts by themselves, or with a salad or a side of sautéed veggies.

Substitutions: You can use any herb combination you wish to change up the flavor. For example, try basil/ oregano, fennel/ chives, or parsley/ tarragon. For those who don’t or can’t eat cheese, I don’t know how a vegan cheese substitute will work in such an application. I often skip the cheese when I don’t have it.  It’s pretty delicious without the cheese too. If you’re skipping the cheese, and want to increase flavor a bit in its absence, add a little more salt, sautéed garlic, paprika and/or a third herb. 

Leave a Reply

